to the British Science Association

We are a registered charity that exists to advance the public understanding, accessibility and accountability of the sciences and engineering in the UK.


Show me content for... +

Show me content for...
Professional development
Families & teenagers (aged 12+)
Families (children aged 12 & under)



Register with us and you can....

  • Sign up to our free e-communications
  • Become a member of the Association
  • Create your own web account, & post comments
  • Be part of British Science Festival
  • Save your favourite items


Keep up to date with the latest news from the British Science Assocation. Sign up to our RSS feeds and take us with you when you are on the move.

You are here

General Committee

The General Committee is established by the British Science Association Statutes, and is the principal strategic advisory body of the British Science Association. The Committee meets twice a year, and is made up of members of Association Council which includes the President, past-President and President-elect. In addition to this, General Committee also includes 16 Association members, who serve three year terms, once elected.

The 16 elected members represent the spectrum of different members across the Association.  They are split in to five categories; affiliates (institutional/corporate), branches, sections, students and general members.  There must be exactly two affiliate representatives and two student representatives. Each of the general members, branches and sections must have at least two representatives, after which any general member, branch, or section representative can fill any remaining vacancies. 

Each member of general committee can serve a maximum of two terms before they must retire.

The complete list of General Committee members consists of members of Council and the following:

Chair: Professor Lisa Jardine

Elected members nominated by:

Professor Lorna Dawson (Affiliates)

Ben Johnson (Affiliates)

Dr Emmanuelle Tulle (Affiliates)

Dr Fern Elsdon Baker (Sections)

Dr David Shankland (Sections)

Deborah Cohen (Sections)

Dr Nigel Eady (Members)

Sarah Chick (Members)

Mark Downs (Members)

Dr Charlotte Haigh (Branches)

Brian Carroll (Branches)

Dr Steve Cross (Branches)

Victoria Kowalkowski (Branches)

Jessica Leigh Jones (Students)