Local Branches

Diverse, volunteer-led events reaching local audiences across the UK


Show me content for... +

Show me content for...
Professional development
Families & teenagers (aged 12+)
Families (children aged 12 & under)



Register with us and you can....

  • Sign up to our free e-communications
  • Become a member of the Association
  • Create your own web account, & post comments
  • Be part of British Science Festival
  • Save your favourite items


Keep up to date with the latest news from the British Science Assocation. Sign up to our RSS feeds and take us with you when you are on the move.

You are here

About us - the committee

The Committee

The Branch Committee meets Quarterly to plan the activities that we will organise or support in the coming months. It is also a forum for making formal decisions associated with Branch governance.

Chair: Bob Foster

Bob is a full-time online private tutor specialising in maths and science. His degree is in Microbiology from Bristol University. He’s been involved with the running of science cafes at the Tobacco Factory for many years. He is particularly interested in the personal, social and environmental consequences of the huge scientific and technological changes that will be impacting our children.
email: chair@bscia-bsba.org.uk

Deputy-chair: John Bradford

John’s first degree was in Mechanical Engineering and his PhD examined systemic change in small engineering businesses. He was until recently the manager for Science City Bristol and has spent over 10 years building partnerships between academia and industry. He is currently working for the Aerospace & Advanced Engineering iNET at the University of the West of England, Bristol. He is a Panel Advisor to the University of Local Knowledge (Knowle West Media Centre), a reviewer for the Festival of Ideas, a contributor to NEXUS (University of Bristol’s leadership initiative on improving outcomes for young people), and an Elected Member (Branches) of the General Committee for the British Science Association.
email: deputy-chair@bscia-bsba.org.uk

Treasurer: Abigail Clevely treasurer@bscia-bsba.org.uk

Secretary: Yusra Sidiqui  secretary@bscia-bsba.org.uk

Minutes Secretary - Patrick Slade
. minutes@bscia-bsba.org.uk