Science in Society

Sharing good practice & encouraging innovation in public engagement


Show me content for... +

Show me content for...
Professional development
Families & teenagers (aged 12+)
Families (children aged 12 & under)



Register with us and you can....

  • Sign up to our free e-communications
  • Become a member of the Association
  • Create your own web account, & post comments
  • Be part of British Science Festival
  • Save your favourite items


Keep up to date with the latest news from the British Science Assocation. Sign up to our RSS feeds and take us with you when you are on the move.

You are here

The Fellows

Over 250 researchers have taken part in the Media Fellowship scheme since 1987.

"It was enlightening to find out what makes a story and how journalists develop stories from what they are told in press conferences. The angle they see on some of the research is certainly not what you would take away as a scientist."

Kirstin Goldring, Neuroscientist, Imperial College London (Media Fellow 2007)

The 2014 Media Fellows

The 2014 Fellows were:

  • Dr Maria Dasi Espuig is a Postdoctoral Research Associate in solar physics at Imperial College. She was placed with BBC Radio and Online
  • Professor Michel Destrade is Head of Applied Mathematics at NUI Galway. He was at the Irish Times
  • Dr Mike Eyre is a Clinical Research Fellow at the Barts and The London School of Medicine & Dentistry Blizard Institute. He was with BBC Radio and Online
  • Dr Vicky Forster is a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the Northern Institute for Cancer Research. She was at the Times
  • Nishad Karim is a PhD student in space science and instrumentation at the University of Leicester Space Research Centre. She was at the Guardian
  • Dr Rhian Meara is a Geography Lecturer at the University of Swansea. She is currently completeing a part-time placement at Telesgop.
  • Dr Aditee Mitra is a Research Officer in Plankton Modelling at the Swansea University Centre for Sustainable Aquatic Research. She was at BBC Countryfile
  • Dr Tyler Shendruk is an EMBO Long-Term Fellow at the University of Oxford. He was at the Financial Times
  • Dr Anna Simmonds is a Research Associate in Neuroscience at Imperial College. She was placed at Nature
  • Dr Anna Williams is a Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science at the University of Huddersfield. She was at New Scientist
  • Dr Pete Shadbolt is a Research Assistant, Imperial College London. He is currently at the Conversation part-time.

Previous years' Fellows

2013 Media Fellowships Report

2012 Media Fellows reports

Media Fellows case studies 1987-2013


More on Media Fellowships

Media FellowshipsMedia hosts | Applications | Impacts | Supporters