The British Science Association has been rewarding promising early career scientists for over 20 years, many of whom are now successful science communicators. Previous Award Lecturers include Brian Cox, Richard Wiseman and Maggie Aderin-Pocock.

The Award Lectures aim to promote open and informed discussion on issues involving science and actively encourage scientists to explore the social aspects of their research. The nominees should be active, early career researchers who are skilled in communicating their research and who are able to present their Award Lecture during the British Science Festival, 8-12 September 2020, hosted by Anglia Ruskin University in Chelmsford. 

If you have any questions, please read our Award Lecture FAQs or get in contact

We are no longer accepting nominations for 2020.

Awards are available in seven different areas:

  • Margaret Mead - social sciences

  • Isambard Kingdom Brunel - engineering, technology and industry 

  • Charles Lyell - environmental sciences

  • Charles Darwin - agricultural, biological and medical sciences

  • Rosalind Franklin - physical sciences and mathematics

  • Daphne Oram - digital innovation

  • Jacob Bronowski - science and the arts

The selected lecturers receive an all expenses paid trip to the British Science Festival, a £250 honorarium and an invitation to the Festival Dinner. There may also be other opportunities to present the Award Lecture at other science festivals in the UK.

To get an idea of what it's like to be an Award Lecturer, check out the blog from one of our 2018 winners, Oli Williams. 

See the full list of Award Lectures since 1990.