Nominations for the British Science Association’s (BSA) 2017 Honorary Fellowships are now open. An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour that the BSA can confer on to an individual. Supporters of the BSA are invited to name special individuals to be considered as Honorary Fellows once a year.

A special committee go through the nominations and advise the BSA Council, who make the final decision on who shall receive a Fellowship. Those selected are people who have made an outstanding contribution to the vision and mission of the BSA. The committee look to reward people who:

  • promote openness about science in society; between the public, policy makers and other decision-makers, and the scientific and business community
  • engage and inspire adults and young people directly with science and technology, and their implications.

Previous recipients include: Professor Brian Cox, Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock, Dr Helen Sharman, and Sir David Attenborough.

The new Honorary Fellows will be announced in late summer and are officially presented at the annual British Science Festival dinner by the President of the BSA.

To make a nomination, please complete this form before 28 February 2017.