The British Science Association has been rewarding promising early career scientists for over 20 years, many of whom are now successful science communicators. Previous Award Lecturers include Brian Cox, Richard Wiseman and Maggie Aderin-Pocock.

The Award Lectures aim to promote open and informed discussion on issues involving science and actively encourage scientists to explore the social aspects of their research. The nominees should be active, early career researchers who are skilled in communicating their research and who are able to present their Award Lecture in September. 

The British Science Festival 2020 has been postponed to 7 – 11 September 2021. We will be making an announcement on Award Lecturers for 2020/21 in due course.

If you have any questions, please get in touch

Awards are available in seven different areas and seek to highlight the interdisciplinarity of science, research and innovation:

  • Margaret Mead - social sciences

  • Isambard Kingdom Brunel - engineering, technology and industry 

  • Charles Lyell - environmental sciences

  • Charles Darwin - agricultural, biological and medical sciences

  • Rosalind Franklin - physical sciences and mathematics

  • Daphne Oram - digital innovation

  • Jacob Bronowski - science and the arts

There may also be other opportunities to present the Award Lecture at other science festivals in the UK.

To get an idea of what it's like to be an Award Lecturer, check out the blog from one of our 2018 winners, Oli Williams. 

See the full list of Award Lectures since 1990.