Take the opportunity to recognise an individual or group who has given outstanding support to the British Science Association as a volunteer by nominating them for the Sir Walter Bodmer Award for Volunteering. 

Nominations for the 2016 Sir Walter Bodmer Award are now closed, and we've annouced the winner: Bob Foster, Chair of the BSA’s Bristol and Bath Branch.

The purpose of the Sir Walter Bodmer Award is to publicly acknowledge the contributions volunteers make to the BSA and to encourage others to volunteer. Volunteers are defined as those individuals who give their time, unpaid, to advance the aims of the BSA, outside the requirements of their principle employment. The award is usually made to an individual, but may be made to a group of volunteers.

Anyone is eligible to nominate an individual or group of BSA volunteers.  Nominations are accepted in May of each year, after which the award panel assess all submissions and chooses the year’s winner.  The winner is then announced during Volunteers’ Week and is invited to receive their award at the Volunteers' Reception at the British Science Festival.

The BSA’s volunteers primarily fall into the following categories, although this is not an exhaustive list:

  • Branch volunteers
  • Section members
  • Council members
  • Honorary Fellows
  • Science club leaders
  • CREST teachers and mentors
  • Event helpers


Award criteria and nomination rules

  • Nominees will be assessed based on the impact and innovation of their volunteer work for the BSA
  • Anyone may make a nomination, whether they are BSA staff, members, existing volunteers or people not associated with the BSA
  • An individual may nominate more than one person or group
  • Nominations may only be made through a completed nomination form (see link below)
  • BSA staff and their family members may not be nominated
  • Individuals may not nominate themselves.


Nominations are now closed.

For more information, please contact the Engagement Team (regions@britishscienceassociation.org)