Below is a list of the current members of the British Science Association's Council. Unless otherwise stated, the below people are all trustees of the BSA.

Find out more about the role of Council.


Hilary Newiss

Hilary sits on the boards of the Natural History Museum and the Cell & Gene Therapy Catapult and she was also previously Chair of National Voices, a charity that works to strengthen the voices of patients – especially from underrepresented groups – in healthcare. Through her career she has been on the boards for the Human Genetics Commission, Roslin Institute and the Francis Crick Institute. By training, Hilary is a lawyer specialising in intellectual property.

Deputy Chair & Vice President for Engagement

Stephen Nuttall

Stephen Nuttall is Managing Director of Media & Production Rights at America's Cup and a Principal at strategic consultancy First Decide. Stephen has worked in the media and technology sectors for 30 years, most recently being the Senior Director leading the EMEA region at Google/YouTube and prior to that as Sky's Group Commercial Director. He serves on Ofcom's Content Board and a Senior Advisor at Searchlight Capital.

He holds a degree in Physics and Applied Physics with Electronics from the University of Nottingham and an MBA from the Scuola di Direzione Aziendale at Bocconi University in Milan.


Kalli Bowyer

Kalli is a finance executive with a background in global energy, commodity, and technology businesses. Until October 2022 she was VP Finance at Avast PLC and has previously held positions as CFO Technology and Operations at the London Stock Exchange Group, and Finance Director Industrials and Head of Strategy Sugar at ED&F Man.  

Prior to this Kalli enjoyed an international career spanning 20 years with the Royal Dutch Shell Group.

Vice-President for Education

Professor Heather King

Heather is Professor of Science Education at King’s College London whose work seeks to support the design of socially and environmentally just learning experiences in STEM. Her work addresses youth engagement and educator practice in schools, universities, museums, and out-of-school contexts in the UK and internationally.  She also runs studies and teaches courses on STEM Making and is eager to learn more about ways to facilitate Making in ways that enable more people to participate.

Heather has a background in museum education and has previously worked for international development charities including Oxfam and ActionAid.

Vice-President for Policy, Partnerships & Impact

Position vacant.

Council members

Dr Rubina Ahmed

Dr Rubina Ahmed is the Associate Director for Systems Engagement at the Stroke Association where she is responsible for a wide portfolio of activities, including research funding, policy, public affairs and campaigns, as well as work on health inequalities, prevention and international engagement. She is a member of the NHS England Stroke Delivery Programme Board and a Board Member of the Stroke Alliance for Europe.

Rubina holds a PhD in Immunology and an MSc in Management and has a background in scientific research funding, strategy and management. She has worked in both the public and charity sector for a number of years, including with the Wellcome Trust and Cancer Research UK, working across a range of areas from fundamental and translational research through to clinical trials regulation and delivery.

Alongside her work at the Stroke Association and with the BSA, she is also a Trustee for Pro Bono Economics – a charity that works with third sector organisations to demonstrate the economic value of their work.

Dr Joe de Sousa

Joe has an extensive track record in scientific and leadership roles across pharmaceutical R&D and at the interface of industry, academia & the public sector including pre-clinical research, clinical development and regulatory approval across a wide range of disease areas.

Joe leads Melhor Consulting and is a Council Member at the EPSRC (Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council), a Strategic Advisor at Bionow, a member of the BioCity Expert Network and an Innovate UK Assessor. He has previously been a member of the EPSRC Strategic Advisory Network and the EPSRC Healthcare Technologies Strategy Team.

Joe completed a DPhil at the University of Oxford and is a Chartered Chemist, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Visiting Senior Research Fellow at University of Manchester.

Kate Mingay

Kate is a corporate finance specialist with a background in large scale infrastructure projects and an experienced Non-Executive Director. She currently has senior advisor positions with two economic and finance advisory businesses and is an independent Non- Executive Director of Wessex Water and Mutual Energy. Until recently she was a Hitachi Shareholder Director of Ansaldo STS SpA, the Italian rail engineering business.

Kate started her career at UBS and Goldman Sachs before building a professional corporate finance capability at the Department for Transport and later became a founding member of HM Treasury’s Major Projects Review Group. In addition to her commercial governance experience, she also has broad-based understanding of the public/private sector interface and managing wider stakeholder interests.

Dr Sarah Main

Dr Sarah Main is the Executive Director of the Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE) and acts at the interface between public policy and science. She engages with industry, charity and academic leaders across UK science and influences policy development through discussions with Government Ministers, Parliamentary Committees, Chief Scientific Advisors and senior civil servants. She is particularly interested in how the UK's active and thriving science base, combined with political will, can deliver tangibly and broadly for society.

Sarah trained as a molecular biologist and later worked in strategy and funding at the Medical Research Council and in Government. Sarah is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, a Trustee of the Foundation for Science and Technology, and an Honorary Professor at University College London.  In October 2020 Sarah was appointed as a Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor at the University of Westminster. 

The following people sit on Council but are not trustees:

President: Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon 

Past President: Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock