The British Science Association (BSA) is a charity incorporated by Royal Charter (granted by King George the Fifth in 1928) and governed by a Council which forms the Board of Trustees. The BSA also has a principal strategic advisory body, known as General Committee, which includes representatives from our membership, branches and sections.

The BSA is managed by a professional staff, of around 30 people in our national office in the Wellcome Wolfson Building in London and over 35 Branches across the UK run by our network of volunteers.   

The British Science Association also recognises people who have made an outstanding contribution to the aims and purposes of the British Science Association through our Honorary Fellows.

Our Programme Department creates, manages and delivers our range of projects, activities and events including the British Science Festival, British Science Week, regional and local events; the CREST Awards, the National Science + Engineering Competition (NSEC), and our Youth Panel; the Science Communications Conference and our Media Fellowships scheme.  

It comprises three teams focused by audience group:

Our Development & Communications Department is responsible for Marketing, PR, Digital and Social media, Fundraising and partnerships for the organisation.

Our Core Services Department covers Finance, IT and Administration, including our Board Secretariat.

Our network of over 35 Branches is led and managed by a network of volunteers nationwide.  So, too, are the 17 Scientific Sections of the British Science Association, which contribute to our programme of events, including the annual British Science Festival.