Each year, supporters of the British Science Association (BSA) are invited to nominate individuals to be considered as Honorary Fellows – the highest honour the Association can confer on an individual.

These are people who embody the BSA’s vision and mission in a variety of ways, including bringing science to the public in a clear and engaging way; challenging the stereotypes of what a scientist looks like; and furthering the inclusion and diversity of science in society.

As a response to the seismic global events and challenges in recent years, the BSA’s Council (our Board of Trustees) decided to theme the accolade under relevant topics for 2020, 2021 and 2022

In 2020, this was centred on people playing a leading role in the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, we celebrated those making an outstanding contribution to engagement and communication on the topic of climate science, sustainability and the environment. And in 2022 , we have honoured individuals who have excelled in three areas that young people told us were priorities for their futures – collaboration, energy and the environment.

Below you can find a list of our Honorary Fellows.


Professor Jason Arday
Dr Jess Wade

Read the full announcement

2022 – The challenges of our time 

Professor Carole Mundell, for collaboration
Professor Saiful Islam, for energy
Gillian Burke, for environment

Read the full announcement

2021 – The climate crisis edition (awarded virtually)

Christina Adane
Ade Adepitan
Rosamund Adoo-Kissi-Debrah
Haleh Moravej
Dr Friederike (Fredi) Otto

Read more

2020 – The COVID-19 edition (awarded virtually)

Professor Faith Osier
Mona Chalabi
Professor Devi Sridhar
Dr Xand Van Tulleken

Read more

2019 - Coventry & Warwickshire

Angela Saini
Chi Onwurah
Rt. Hon the Lord David Willetts
Dr Helen Czerski

Read more

2018 - Hull

Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon 
Roma Agrawal
Martha Lane-Fox
Liz Bonnin*

Read more here and here

2017 - Brighton

Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott
Dr Adam Rutherford
Wayne McGregor

Read more

2016 - Swansea

Ben Miller
Dr Hannah Fry
Jess Thom
Steve Crabtree
Dr Turi King

Read more

2015 - Bradford

Mr Dallas Campbell
Professor Gina Rippon
Dr Helen Sharman

2014 - Birmingham

Professor Athene M Donald
Dr Steve Cross
Mr Robin Ince

2013 - Newcastle

Professor Uta Frith
Sir Roland Jackson
Dr Mark Lythgoe
Clare Matterson
Sir Paul Nurse
Dr Kenneth Skeldon

2012 - Aberdeen

Dr Anjana Ahuja
Dr Eric Albone
Mr Clive Cookson
Professor Brian Cox
Dr Cyril Isenberg
Professor Nick Pidgeon
Professor Andrea Sella

In memorium:

Professor Lisa Jardine

2011 - Bradford

Mr Dick Ahlstrom
Professor Chris Budd
Professor Julia King
Dr Graham Farmelo
Dr Becky Parker
Dr Alice Roberts
The Lord Sainsbury of Turville

2010 - Birmingham

Professor Chris Frith
Mr Peter Hatfield
Professor Michael Reiss
Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock
Ms Vivienne Parry
Professor Marcus Du Sautoy 
Professor Richard Wiseman

2009 - Surrey

Professor Patrick Dowling
Mr Bill Bryson
Professor Frances Balkwill
Mr Adam Hart-Davis 
Professor Steve Jones
Professor Sir David King
Emeritus Professor Salim Al-Hassani

2008 - Liverpool

Dr Richard Fortey
The Lord Browne of Madingley
Professor Alan Irwin
Professor Julia Goodfellow

2007 - York

Professor Jim Al-Khalili 
Mr Christopher Dalton
Professor William Gosling
Mr Colin Johnson
Ms Kay Roberts

2006 - Norwich

Ms Frances Cairncross
Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell
Professor John Holman 
Ms Lorelly Wilson

2005 - Dublin

Professor Lord May of Oxford
Dame Bridget Ogilvie 
Professor Lord Winston

2004 - Exeter

Ms Sheila Anderson 
Sir David Cooksey 
Dr Ian Gibson MP
Dr Lesley Glasser
Professor Helen Haste
Professor Dame Julia Higgins
Professor Kathy Sykes

2003 - Salford

Sir Neil Chalmers
Mr E J Fullagar
Baroness Susan Greenfield 
Mr Andrew Hunt 
Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell 
Ms Gillian Thomas

In Memoriam:

Emeritus Professor R Gregory

2002 - Leicester

Professor Sir Geoffrey Allen 
Sir David Attenborough 
Dr Peter Briggs
Dr Deborah Cohen 
Professor Peter Kalmus 
Dr Nancy Lane
Sir Bernard Lovell 
Dr David Moore 
Sir Howard Newby
The Lord Waldegrave of North Hill
Professor Sir Joseph Pope 
Lord Porter
Mr J Michael Sheasby
Mr D B Smart 
Mrs Gillian Wood
Mr Bernard Dyer
Dr Peter Warren

In Memoriam:

Lady Barbara Dainton
Sir Kenneth Durham
Professor John Beetlestone MBE

2001 - Glasgow

Professor Colin Blakemore
Sir Walter Bodmer
Professor Frank Close
Sir Neil Cossons
Professor John Durant
Sir Sam Edwards
Professor Malcolm J Frazer
Mr Roger Highfield 
The Lord Jenkin of Roding 
Sir Hans Kornberg
Professor Dame Anne McLaren 
Mr John Milbourn
The Lord Moser of Regents Park 
The Lord Oxburgh of Liverpool
Professor David Phillips
Mr Tim Radford 
Lord Rees of Ludlow 
Sir Derek Roberts
Sir Denis Rooke
Mrs Barbara Smail
Dr Laurence Smaje 
Sir Richard Sykes 
Professor Jeff Thompson 
Professor Sir David Weatherall 
Sir Peter Williams 
Professor Lewis Wolpert
Professor George Gordon

In Memoriam:

Dr J G Collingwood
Professor Douglas Everett
Professor G E Fogg
Sir John Mason 
Sir Andrew Huxley

*Liz Bonnin was awarded her Honorary Fellowship at the 2018 Huxley Summit in London.